Local Host Committee

Baltimore Local Host Committee

Special thanks to all in our host city, Baltimore, who help plan and coordinate so many pieces of the 2024 AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo!

Thank you to the Baltimore Local Host Committee:


Asma Naeem, Baltimore Museum of Art and Susan Magsamen, International Arts + Mind Lab, Center for Applied Neuroaesthetics, Johns Hopkins University

Leadership team:

Trillion Attwood, Jewish Museum of Maryland; Jeff Buchheit, Pride of Baltimore; Kris Hoellen, B&O Railroad Museum; Chanel Johnson, Banneker Douglass Museum; Ann Bennett, Laurel Historical Society; Katie Caljean, Maryland Center for History and Culture; Carter Polakoff, Port Discovery Children’s Museum; and Terri Freeman, Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African American History & Culture

All Baltimore Local Host Committee Members:

African American Firefighters Historical Society: George Collins
American Visionary Art Museum: Valerie Williams & Gage Branda
Annapolis Maritime Museum: Alice Estrada & Louisa Engle
B&O Railroad Museum: Kris Hoellen & Jon Goldman
Baltimore Museum of Art: Asma Naeem, VerĂ³nica Betancourt, Rachel Sanchez, & Alexa Milroy
Baltimore Museum of Industry: Anita Kassof & Beth Maloney
Baltimore National Heritage Area: Shauntee Daniels
Banneker Douglass Museum: Chanel Johnson & Leronn Herbert
Captain Avery Museum: Elaina Lill Uhl & Leila Warshaw
Elizabeth Myers Mitchell Art Museum: Peter Nesbett
Fort McHenry National Monument & Historic Shrine, Hampton National Historic Site, Star Spangled Banner National Historic Trail: David Moore & Robert J Stewart
Goucher College Art Galleries: Janna Dyk
Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance: Jeannie Howe & David London
Historical Society of Baltimore: James “Jamie” Keffer
Howard County Historical Society: Mark J. Stout
International Arts + Mind Lab(IAM Lab), Center for Applied Neuroaesthetics, Johns Hopkins University: Susan Magsamen & Karen Alexander
Jewish Museum of Maryland: Sol Davis & Trillion Attwood
Johns Hopkins University Museums: Lori Finkelstein & Mary Casey
Laurel Historical Society: Ann Bennett & Abby Carver
Lillie Carroll Jackson Civil Rights Museum: Dr. Iris Leigh Barnes
Maryland Center for History and Culture: Katie Caljean & Catherine Arthur
Maryland Historical Trust: Elizabeth Hughes & Nell Ziehl
Maryland Museum of Military History: Edward Heimiller & Alexandra Reed
Maryland Museums Association: Meagan Baco
Maryland Science Center: Mark Potter & Pete Yancone
Maryland Women’s Heritage Center: Diana Bailey
Mount Clare Museum House: Krista Green
National Aquarium: Jennifer Driban & Emma Wesoloski
Patapsco Heritage Greenway: Aaron Shapiro & Kyla Cools
Port Discovery Children’s Museum: Carter Polakoff & Kelli Coffman
Pride of Baltimore: Jeff Buchheit
Prince George’s County of Parks and Recreation: Kevin Cabrera
Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African American History & Culture: Terri Freeman & Rachel Graham
Sankofa Children’s Museum of African Cultures: Kiki Armstrong & Patti Smith
The Bill & Ted Fund: Bill Gilmore & Theodore Frankel
The National Great Blacks in Wax Museum, Inc: Joanne Martin & Jon Wilson
The Peale: Nancy Proctor & Krista Green
The Walters Art Museum: Katarina Ziegler
Visit Baltimore: Olivia Puglisi

The Local Host Committee plays a critical role in ensuring the overall success of the AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo: 

  • Hosting evening events that showcase the depth and breadth of the local culture 
  • Recruiting and managing local and national volunteers to support the onsite logistics for the program 
  • Acting as hospitality and tourism ambassadors for the host city during the meeting 
  • Using the annual meeting to garner publicity for the local cultural community, as well as the annual meeting 
  • Coordinating and executing experiential learning opportunities 
  • Raising funds to ensure an inclusive and accessible meeting to provide scholarships, deeply discounted registration, a volunteer program, ASL interpreters, captioning, and more.